Roadmap To The Bible

Bible on top of a map

Intro to Roadmap to the Bible (Gen. 1-11)

If you have any questions or need clarity anytime throughout the course, feel free to send Pastor Chris an email:

Whether you are a brand new believer or a life-long Sunday School teacher; this class will really be a blessing for you. Each session (except the first) we will be overviewing an entire book of the bible and will offer notes/outline in advance and go over the notes at least one week in advance. This will be a multi-series class covering the entire narrative arch of the Bible starting at ground zero. We will summarize and map out the Who, What, Where, When, Why of the Bible.

Our first series will cover the first 5 books of the bible. Week #1 will be an overview of the bible, and Week #2-#6 will go from Genesis to Deuteronomy. We encourage you to read through the notes & slides in order to have a better mastery of the content of each book of the bible.

Week 1 Lecture

The Patriarchs (Gen. 12-50) 

The rest of Genesis transitions from traversing to sprawling genealogies into a straight-forward narrative of a bronze-age migrant named Abram from Mesopotamia and his descendant’s journey to Canaan. You can break down the remainder of Genesis into 4 Main Stories, each centered on Abraham and his favored descendants, Issac, Jacob (Israel) and lastly Joseph. There will be many “stories within stories” from these 4 main stories including the iconic story of Sodom & Gomorrah, Jacob wrestling with an angel, and Joseph and his brothers, as well as many overlooked stories such as the Battle of Siddim, story of Dinah & Shechem, and the story of Judah & Tamar.

Book of Exodus

The book of Exodus introduces the famous prophet Moses, who will be our central protagonist for the remainder of the Torah. The book can be divided into 2 main sections, the first being the iconic Exodus story about a fugitive named Moses who reluctantly accepts God’s calling to lead the Israelite people out of Egypt into the wilderness of the Sinai Peninsula. The second half is the story of God’s Revelation on Mount Sinai, a story that will stretch from Exodus 19 until Numbers 10 where the Hebrews will camp for 2 years and enter into a foundational covenant agreement with the Lord adopting them as His holy people. 

Moses enters the summit of the mountain for 40 days and 40 nights learning God’s “Torah” (literally “law” or “instruction”) and is given a divine blueprint for a holy dwelling called the Tabernacle where the Lord’s presence will rest among of Israelites. After a major setback involving the people molding and worshiping a golden calf, Moses reconciles with the Lord, and the Hebrew people triumphantly fund and build the tabernacle. The book ends with God settling inside the dwelling.    

Book of Leviticus

The book of Leviticus picks up right where Exodus left off after Moses assembles the tabernacle and dives deeper into the inauguration ceremony briefly alluded to in Exodus chap. 40 (Beginning in the Leviticus 8). Before that, we are introduced to more priestly laws regarding the 5 different sacrificial offerings performed at the Sacrificial Altar (1-7).  In Chap. 11-16 we are introduced to more priestly laws on Purity and wrap up with Leviticus with the Holiness Code, our 4th and last collection of laws given at Mt. Sinai, based on ethical commandments which Israelites must reflect to emulate God’s holiness.

Book of Numbers

The book of Numbers completes the Revelation at Mt. Sinai story arc and records the Israelites journeying from Mt. Sinai to the Plains of Moab near the Jordan River, just outside the Canaanite city of Jericho. The book begins preparation for Israel’s journey to Canaan as God commands Moses to conduct a census, organize a camp formation surrounding the tabernacle, and give procedures for how the camp should travel to Canaan. After celebrating the Passover, the Israelites depart toward Kadesh (near the location where the Hagar met an angel in Genesis) from there, they send 12 spies to scope out Canaan. Once they return, the Israelites lack enough to believe they will overtake the land from the natives. For this, they are punished with 40 years wandering in the desert. After the Exodus generation dies off, their children will conquer the Transjordan, defeating two Amorite kings named Sihon & Og. The Transjordan land is appropriated to the tribes of Reuben, Gad & Manasseh. The book ends with Israelites camping on the steppes of Moab directly across the river from Jericho.

Book of Deuteronomy

The book of Deuteronomy is the final book of the Pentateuch (the five books of Moses) and records his three speeches Moses proclaims before he dies. The first speech is a remembrance of the journey Israelites made to reach the Jordan River, awaiting to overtake the Canaanite land,  a long-awaited promise which stretches all the way to the promise given to Abraham in Genesis 12. Moses’ second speech is the central focus of the book of Deuteronomy (which means “second law” in Greek). This speech is commonly referred to as the Deuteronomic Law or Code and it presents an expansion of the judicial and governing regulations found in the Book of Covenant (Exodus 21-23). The 3rd and shortest speech formalizes the Deuteronomic Law and pleas for the Israelites to submit to the Deuteronomic Law. The book concludes with Moses reciting a poem and final words to each tribe, before climbing Mount Nebo. Moses takes in all the splendor of the promised land before finally passing away and is succeeded by his loyal attendant Joshua. 

2nd Series (To Be Announced 2021)

We will be rebooting our 2nd Series picking up after Moses, covering Israel’s leadership from Joshua to King David. Updates will be forthcoming in the near future!